Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

You are here


SF Symphony: Beethoven and Brahms' Fourth

Thu, Mar 09 - 8:00 pm

Regular Price: $49 - $79

Goldstar Price: $24.50 - $39.50

Get Tickets

Sent to the front during World War I, German composer Paul Hindemith wrote in his diary that he was "surviving grenade attacks only by good luck." He survived, only to have to leave home with his Jewish wife when the Nazis came to power. As another world war broke out, Hindemith channeled the horrors he'd seen firsthand into his raw Violin Concerto, which captivating violinist Arabella Steinbacher will bring to life in this San Francisco Symphony concert. Conductor Marek Janowski kicks off the program with Beethoven's war piece, the Coriolan Overture, which gives voice to the famous Roman general's vengeful attack on his homeland. Beethoven's spirit is heard throughout Brahms' beloved Symphony No. 4, which closes this concert at Davies Symphony Hall.

Event Location

Davies Symphony Hall 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102

Contact Info